THE WORLD OF LITERATURE.

Ruhee Joshi
5 min readJan 12, 2021

--

I still remember when I was in junior class, my mom used to read short stories before I went to bed, I used to love the way she read and explain to me, I used to ask her for reading me more and more stories, then when I reached grade one, I wrote my first poem in Hindi named-Krishna, it was about a Hindu lord Krishna and his world, my dad has still safely kept the page on which my poem is written in his personal diary. When I reached grade three, I started drawing pictures and composing stories about them.

My parents understood my talent and always bought me storybooks to read and encouraged me to write as well as helped me correct my grammatical errors and spellings, take part in competitions and much more, I literally enjoyed reading anything- whether its a brochure for job entry or it is my History textbook. My parents were also avid readers, they had a small library where all their books were kept, I always looked at it and thought to myself if I could read them and understand them someday.

When I was promoted to grade five and I was ten years old, we had to write a Hindi poem on the topic- If I was a fairy, which will later get printed in the school magazine. I had never written for my school magazine before but had always enjoyed my mom reading the older students’ articles and poems, I decided to give it a try. That night before going to bed, I grabbed a pencil and a sheet of paper and wrote my first line, then I stopped and quietly closed my eyes thinking about other poems I had read earlier. I had read mostly rhyming poems and decided to think of a rhyming line for my first line. After two minutes a chain of words were scattered in my brain which I put together and a beautiful sentence was formed. Like this, I kept on writing a line and looking for words and then putting them into sentences. When I finally concluded my poem and read to myself from the start, I felt proud and happy as it was a beautiful rhyming poem and I felt it was perfect, I ran to my mom and handed her the paper to read my work and she smiled telling me that it was all ready to be given to my teacher.

The next day morning, I gave my poem to the teacher and she too loved it. When I went to class six, I got the school magazine and was so happy to see my poem published there. For me, literature had become my best friend. Whenever I am sad, I read, whenever I am bored, I read, whenever I am happy, I write poetry or article, whenever I feel frustrated I read, in short, Literature was my soulmate, it was my first love. Wherever I went, literature always came along with me. So, the same year there was an essay writing competition in my complex, I prepared my essay and went and wrote confidently. The next week I was announced as the third prize holder. We also had to write an essay on the topic-The line should end with-I walked with tears in my eyes, which my teacher liked and immediately published it in the school magazine.

In the year 2019, a piece of really good news sprang into my life, there was going to be a library built in our complex, the very first day of the opening of the library I went and borrowed books, Library is my favourite place where I can explore the world of literature more. I met an aunt who always supported my writing, her name is — Avani, she always encouraged me along with my parents.

Now came the year 2020, The evil coronavirus controlled it. There were lockdown and curfew, but still, my literature was there with me. I wrote various poems and essays. I took storytelling and writing courses and then one day in my online classes, I recited my favourite poem-The women of India which all my classmates liked. Now the time had also come, of me to read the books from the little library which my parents have. Now I have my own library at my house stacked with numerous books. In this lockdown, my parents and I decided to publish these works and then I found Medium, where I write, I decided to post every Saturday and my intention is to make everyone happy by my writing as well as make them feel relaxed. Now I have 18 followers on Medium, I love all of them and is very proud that I am able to do something for whoever reads my articles.

The last month of 2020, I recited the same poem in the talent show competition held in my complex and I was awarded the consolation prize by a well-known cricket player and a police officer(sorry I forgot their names), I also write on Wattpad my book named- Time for me to speak and for you to listen.

Though 2020 was not that good, One more good news came into my life, I was taken as the writer in my apartment’s newsletter, because of my talent, now I feel so blessed and I am so thankful to God for all I have.

So, I had heard from many people that first love is first love, it won’t be with you forever, but Literature was my first love, it is still there with me and I am sure it will always be! Also, all of you who support me and read my works- I call you all raspberries lovingly and I love you all!

So I would conclude by saying that thank you to all of you, my parents and other supporters, I will keep writing for you all and keep making you happy, this is the story of me and my soulmate literature, that means- wherever I am, literature is of course with me. Thank you.

image source: Unsplash

A/N: So raspberries, I hope you like today’s blog, I didn’t upload from two weeks as I was busy, but I got time and grabbed my pc and typed my blog.Love you all raspberries!💖💖🍒

--

--